top of page

TIMO JOUKO HERRMANN

Musical career

Timo Jouko Herrmann is internationally renowned for his research into 18th century Italian composer Antonio Salieri.

His publications are recognized as the authoritative sources on the life and work of Salieri and have been cited in leading German musicological journal Die Musikforschung and in New Yorker magazine.

His rediscovery of Per la ricuperata salute di Ofelia KV 477a, a cantata composed by Salieri and Mozart, brought Herrmann to the world’s attention. He attended the Mannheim University of Music and Performing Arts, studying composition under Ulrich Leyendecker and musicology under Hermann Jung, with whom he completed his PhD on Salieri’s German-language stage works.

He studied conducting under Klaus Arp. Herrmann received many accolades as a student, including the composition prize awarded by SAP and the Walldorf municipality, the international Graun Brothers Prize for young musicians, and scholarships from the Wilhelm-Müller-Stiftung, the Yehudi Menuhin – Live Music Now organization, and the Händel-Akademie Karlsruhe.

He has composed for the Gewandhaus Leipzig concert hall (Fünf Fabeln nach Jean de la Fontaine), the Dortmund Opera House (Hamlet – Sein oder Nichtsein), and the Theater für Niedersachsen in Hildesheim (Fama).

His compositions are published by Friedrich Hofmeister Musikverlag Leipzig and Verlag Neue Musik Berlin. He has devised and served as the music consultant on various CD recordings. His work with the Mannheimer Mozartorchester was nominated for a Grammy. As a conductor, he specializes in the music of the Classical and Early Romantic periods, and the contemporary era, his repertoire spanning symphony, oratorio, and opera.

Since 2014, Herrmann has appeared regularly as guest conductor of the Heidelberg Symphony Orchestra, and toured with it throughout Germany. The first CD they produced together, Salieri – strictly private, was nominated in three categories for Germany’s OPUS KLASSIK classical music award in 2020.

bottom of page

TIMO JOUKO HERRMANN

Musikalischer Lebenslauf

Timo Jouko Herrmann gilt als einer der wenigen international anerkannten Salieri-Forscher.

Seine musikwissenschaftlichen Publikationen über Salieri werden als Standardwerke zu Leben und Werk des Komponisten angesehen, sie wurden u.a. im Fachblatt Die Musikforschung und im Feuilleton des New Yorker gewürdigt.

Durch die sensationelle Wiederentdeckung des von Salieri und Mozart gemeinsam vertonten Freudenliedes Per la ricuperata salute di Ofelia KV 477a erlangte Herrmann weltweite Bekanntheit. Er studierte an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Mannheim Komposition bei Ulrich Leyendecker sowie Musikwissenschaft bei Hermann Jung, bei dem er über Salieris deutschsprachige Bühnenwerke promovierte.

Seine dirigentische Ausbildung erhielt er bei Klaus Arp. Schon zu Studienzeiten wurde Herrmann mit vielen Preisen bedacht, darunter der Kompositionspreis von SAP SE und Stadt Walldorf und der Gebrüder-Graun-Preis sowie Stipendien der Wilhelm-Müller-Stiftung, der Vereinigung „Yehudi Menuhin – Live Music Now“ und der Händel-Akademie Karlsruhe.

Er schuf u.a. Werke für das Gewandhaus Leipzig (Fünf Fabeln nach Jean de la Fontaine), die Oper Dortmund (Hamlet – Sein oder Nichtsein) und das Theater für Niedersachen Hildesheim (Fama).

Seine Kompositionen erscheinen beim Friedrich Hofmeister Musikverlag Leipzig und beim Verlag Neue Musik Berlin in Druck. Er hat diverse CD-Einspielungen konzipiert und musikwissenschaftlich betreut, darunter eine Grammy-nominierte Aufnahme mit dem Mannheimer Mozartorchester. Als Dirigent widmet er sich besonders der Musik der Klassik und Frühromantik sowie der Moderne, sein Repertoire reicht dabei von der Sinfonik über das Oratorium bis hin zur Oper.

Seit 2014 steht er regelmäßig als Gastdirigent am Pult der Heidelberger Sinfoniker, mit denen er in ganz Deutschland konzertiert. Ihre erste gemeinsame CD Salieri – strictly private wurde 2020 in drei Kategorien für den OPUS KLASSIK nominiert.

© 2020 by SAP Sinfonieorchester gGmbH & Theme by Marie Drabant.

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon