top of page

FREDERIK DIEHL

Musical career

Frederik Diehl teaches music and romance languages at a high school in Mannheim, Germany, that specializes in the teaching of music. He studied music education at the Mannheim University of Music and Performing Arts, majoring in piano under Christoph Back and conducting under Klaus Eisenmann and Gerald Kegelmann.

Interdisciplinary approaches to learning have always interested him: In his youth, Diehl took both traditional piano and modern drum lessons; more recently, pupils of his have won song-writing competitions for schools in France and Germany.

Even at university, where classical music predominated, Diehl retained his passion for popular music. Besides performing as an orchestra percussionist and choral singer, he took drum lessons with jazz and popular music drummers Keith Copeland, Peter Lübke, and Michael Küttner, and played drums in the university’s salsa band, a jazz trio, various rock and jazz formations, and in numerous semi-professional musicals. He has been a teacher for 18 years, and is head of music at his current school, where he also runs the chamber choir and big band.

In the course of his musical journey, Diehl has collaborated with jazz greats such as Peter Herbolzheimer, Lee Konitz, Klaus Graf, Silke Eberhardt, Thomas Siffling, Erwin Ditzner, and many more. He has also shared his passion for smooth jazz melodies and grooves at workshops and courses, directed Karlsruhe’s JAZZiKA jazz choir for 18 years, and attended courses held by, among others, Anders Jalkeus, Anders Edenroth, Kirby Shaw, Erik Sohn, and Bertrand Gröger. He sang in the Chamber Choir of Europe, the Studio Vocale Karlsruhe choir, and the Ensemble Mannheim Vocal choir and is a cofounder and member of The Lords of the Chords, an a capella group founded in 2004.

 

bottom of page

FREDERIK DIEHL

Musikalischer Lebenslauf

Frederik Diehl ist Musikpädagoge und Romanist am Musikprofil-Gymnasium Moll in Mannheim. Er studierte an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Mannheim Schulmusik mit Hauptfach Klavier bei Christoph Back und Leistungsfach Dirigieren bei Klaus Eisenmann und Gerald Kegelmann.

Seine Affinität zu interdisziplinärem Denken zeigt sich nicht nur in der Schule, wo er mit Schülern siegreich an deutsch-französischen Songwriting-Wettbewerben teilgenommen hat, sondern geht bis in seine Jugend mit konservativem Klavier- und progressivem Schlagzeugunterricht zurück.

Und auch während des Studiums, dessen Inhalte sich eher auf klassische Musik konzentrierten, blieb er immer der so genannten U-Musik treu: Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Orchesterschlagzeuger und Chorsänger nahm er am Schlagzeugunterricht bei Keith Copeland, Peter Lübke und Michael Küttner teil, spielte in der hochschuleigenen Salsa-Band und sorgte als Drummer in einem Jazztrio, diversen Rock- und Jazz-Formationen und zahlreichen semiprofessionellen Musical-Produktionen für den richtigen Groove. Seit 18 Jahren im Schuldienst, leitet er inzwischen den Fachbereich Musik des Moll-Gymnasiums Mannheim, wo er die Verantwortung für den Kammerchor und die Bigband hat.

In diesem Zusammenhang kam es zu diversen Kooperationen mit Jazzgrößen wie Peter Herbolzheimer, Lee Konitz, Klaus Graf, Silke Eberhardt, Thomas Siffling, Erwin Ditzner u.v.m. Außerdem vermittelte er seine Begeisterung für schöne Melodien und gute Grooves in diversen Workshops und Fortbildungen und im Karlsruher Jazz-Chor "JAZZiKA", den er 18 Jahre lang geleitet hat. Auch in diesem Bereich besuchte er Kurse bei Anders Jalkeus, Anders Edenroth, Kirby Shaw, Erik Sohn, Bertrand Gröger u.v.m. Als Sänger wirkte er außerdem im Chamber Choir of Europe, dem Studio Vocale Karlsruhe und dem Ensemble Mannheim Vocal mit. Er ist Mitglied und Mitbegründer des 2004 gegründeten Vokalensembles The Lords of the Chords. 

 

© 2020 by SAP Sinfonieorchester gGmbH & Theme by Marie Drabant.

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon